Cycle 1 Activity 3: Paul Dalgety – Player Stories

Last week we outlined many of the important rules and relationships between characters, enemies, and game objects. This week the goal was to identify player stories in gameplay. To get a better understanding of player stories the first thing needed to be identified are some of the possible actions of the player.

  • Flying
  • Shooting
  • Dodging
  • Attacking
  • Analyzing

Playing as a spaceship I will fly left to right to dodge attacks from enemies.

Playing as a spaceship I will shoot enemies to earn points.

  • As a player, I must analyze shooting patterns and avoid the enemy shots.
  • As a player, I must shoot enemies of the correct colour to destroy them.
  • As a player, I must analyze the spawn patterns of the enemy to have the best performance.
  • As a player, I want to achieve the highest score I can.
  • As a player, I want to last as long as possible.
  • As a player, I want to destroy ships as fast as possible so I’m not overrun by enemies.
  • As a player, I want to try to be alive as long as possible.
  • As a player, I want to attack when I am in a safe area.

These player stories are made to align with our PX goals in mind and as a group we tried to maintain that throughout the activities.

Leave a Reply

